THIS IS WHY JAMAICA IS JAMAICA AND AMERICA IS AMERICA- KARTEL A YEAR AFTER THE VERDICT

KARTELAXEMAN

NO MEDIUM IN AMERICA WOULD WRITE SUCH AN ARTICLE NEVER!
LOVE him or hate him, Vybz Kartel’s impact on Jamaican youth and dancehall music is undeniable.

Yesterday marked one year since the controversial deejay was handed a life sentence for the August 2011 murder of Clive ‘Lizard’ Williams. He is to serve 35 years in prison before being eligible for parole.

Kartel’s co-accused, Shawn ‘Shawn Storm’ Campbell and Kahira Jones, are to serve 25 years before they are eligible for parole, while Andre St John will do 30 years before qualifying for eligibility. The entertainer’s defence attorney has, however, filed an appeal.

Despite his incarceration, Kartel’s music continues to be in demand.

Viking (Vybz is King), his recently released 11-track set, debuted at number three on Billboard’s Reggae Album chart last week.

Kartel’s fifth studio album, it includes previously unreleased songs like Dancehall, Gon Get Better, Enchanting, Time, Volcano, Facebook People and Unstoppable.

His popularity among hardcore dancehall fans and the youth is unbridled.

In January, Kartel (given name Adidja Palmer) was nominated for five Youth View Awards (YVAs), of which he won four.

In an interview with the Jamaica Observer, YVA organiser Karen Clarke said the nominations represent data collected from 14- to 24-year-olds islandwide.

“The YVAs are an unbiased voice of the youth of Jamaica,” she told the Observer at the time.

Kartel’s decade-long run saw flashes of brilliance in songs like Clarks, a salute to the popular British shoe. The company used the song as part of its ad campaign.

Not-fit-for-airplay songs like Ramping Shop and his bleached skin only fueled his notoriety.

He also had a number of run-ins with the law that resulted in arrests. His dispute with fellow deejay Mavado triggered the national Gaza/Gully feud eight years ago.

Today, we look at Kartel and associates, one year after a verdict that had Jamaicans on the edge of their seats.

0 thoughts on “THIS IS WHY JAMAICA IS JAMAICA AND AMERICA IS AMERICA- KARTEL A YEAR AFTER THE VERDICT

1. I wouldn’t even try to make sense out of something that makes no sense at all. Some puzzles are best left unsolved.

2. 14 year old to 24 year old people have nuh sense ? dem still a learn fi clean after pissing.Them nuh know nuh better. Him music will sell yes. he had the skill you cant take that from him. But as a adult with little sense when u hear a kartel song and the the music hit , u still cant stop but think about proven fungus he is. And that over all just kill the vibes. Hey the prezzi have nuff more head under his belt and we nuh feel the hate towards him because we never really see it fi wi self. we only hear about it. this clown made us see the evil via text and video.
    GAZA FI LIFE MI ASS !

3. d american media dat still glorify serial killers every year since their deaths r incarceration…son of sam(6),hillside strangler(12),freeway killer(20),ted bundy(35)? If kartel was an american he would have gotten a documentary r mini-series abt his life. American media represent d true definition of freedom of d press. I agree mi no want hear bout kartel, but d media comparison is so bias. I see you have a document abt frank matthews n others…made by american media?
    # represent lifes taken

4. Anonymous, Kartel has not done any good for Jamaica–is one of the worst thing to have ever happen to Jamaica.

5. The Police Commissioner claims that Kartel was responsible for over 100 murders. Why aren’t they going after him for the other 99+ murders? Knowing the Jamaican Justice System, this thug will be released in another 1 – 2 years. There is a lot of blood on his hands.

The yute in the picture above was taken out on the spot by the police, so why was Kartel life spared? The Police should have taken him out…no court case.

6. What was the point? Bold headline and the point is yet to be made. Wasted a few good minutes reading this garbage. It’s like premature ejaculation. 🙁

Leave a Reply to Lalibela Nile Cancel reply