TUPAC’S MOM HAS DIED

Tupac Shakur’s mother is dead at the age of 69, according to multiple reports.

The Marin County Sheriff’s Department in California told WSB-TV that authorities were called to the home of Afeni Shakur Davis in Sausalto for a report of a possible cardiac arrest on Monday night. She died at a local hospital less than an hour later Monday night.

People reports the Sheriff’s Coroners Office will investigate the exact cause and manner of Davis’ death.

According to the New York Daily News, Afeni was born Alice Faye Williams but changed her name when she moved to New York City and joined the Black Panther movement. She and a group of other Black Panthers were arrested in 1969 and charged with conspiracy to bomb multiple, busy city landmarks; she was acquitted on all charges a month before giving birth to Tupac in 1971.

The rapper, poet and actor, who performed as 2Pac, paid tribute to his mom on the 1995 song “Dear Mama.”

PAC

“There’s no way I can pay you back but the plan is to show you that I understand, you are appreciated,” he rapped.

Afeni Shakur took over the hip-hop icon’s estate after his shooting death in 1996, managing his posthumous legacy and co-producing the Broadway musical “Holler If Ya Hear Me,” based on his music. She also founded the Tupac Amaru Shakur Foundation, and served as the CEO of Amaru Entertainment, Inc., a record and film production company she founded in Atlanta.

She’ll be portrayed by “The Walking Dead” actress Danai Gurira (a.k.a. Michonne) in an upcoming Tupac biopic, “All Eyez On Me,” starring newcomer Demetrius Shipp Jr. as Tupac Shakur and “Notorious” actor Jamal Woolard as his friend-turned-rival Notorious B.I.G. Afeni Shakur served as an executive producer for the project, which has no release date yet.

6 thoughts on “TUPAC’S MOM HAS DIED

1. Har ex husband kill her off because is the other day they were in a squabble ova tu Pac estate because he wanted half of it . And he was just a step dad who came in the picture long after he became famous.

2. R.i.P Afeni!lol needleeye!! It is an heart attack so how him manage fi kill her off hun??

3. Tupac loved his Mother. His hit song DEAR MAMA summed up how he felt about his Mother, and talked about the struggles of a ghetto yute wid a single mother. Nah tell nuh lie, him remind me of Bounty Killa and Miss Ivy, wid de way how him tek nuff picchas wid him and him madda, and did big har up a lot before him dead. RIP Miss Afeni!

Leave a Reply to Latty Cancel reply