VAGINAL INFECTIONS AND HYPERTENSION PLAGUE JAMAICANS

check-up-2-Optimized

Jamaica’s hypertension cases worry visiting doctors

Your Health Your Wealth

Corey Robinson

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Print this page Email A Friend!

MEDICAL doctors visiting as part of this year’s HELP Jamaica Medical Mission on Friday expressed concerns about the severity of hypertension cases in Jamaica.

“We are seeing many people with high blood pressure, and I am not just talking about the normal cases of high blood pressure,” noted Dr Rudolph Willis, a medical practitioner from New Jersey in the United States. “I am talking about blood pressure high enough to give them a stroke at any time.”

[Hide Description] A nurse does a check-up on a patient during Saturday’s health visit at the Hope Glades Medical Centre in Kingston. (PHOTO: BRIAN CUMMINGS)
[Restore Description]
1/1

Willis, who was born in St Mary, described the majority of the blood pressure cases as causes for concern. He said Jamaicans need to visit their doctors more regularly to keep such non-communicable diseases under control.

“A lot of patients that we are seeing do not visit the doctor regularly. When they see us they will come out but they don’t go normally. They must follow up with their doctor. They can use the medication that we give them for the first two weeks but afterwards they must seek medical care. It is important,” said Willis.

Willis is among 25 medical practitioners who are now in the island from New Jersey. He identified diabetes, skin rashes, allergies, headaches, and vaginal infections as some of the other illnesses he has treated during his visit. “Most of the young ladies we have seen have vaginal infections,” he said.

The doctors have so far visited communities including: Tivoli Gardens, Greenwich Town, and Waltham Park Road. They are set to visit communities in St Catherine, Port Royal and Clarendon before they leave at the end of September.

In the meantime, Dr Samuel Duncan, an eye specialist, also expressed concern regarding eye care in the communities he had visited. Some patients have very serious eye diseases, he said, but most only require eye glasses.

For that reason he has secured more than 200 tested eyeglasses from overseas patients which he has been distributing free of cost to Jamaicans who need them.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Jamaica-s-hypertension-cases-worry-visiting-doctors_15082333#ixzz2fD0urFuc

0 thoughts on “VAGINAL INFECTIONS AND HYPERTENSION PLAGUE JAMAICANS

1. WHY THESE YOUNG GYAL WILL NOT MEK THE MAN DEM USE CONDOM IS BEYOND ME. THEY DEFINATELY DO NOT WANT TO GET THAT NEW STRAIN OF GONNOREA THAT IS INCURABLE AND ANTIBIOTIC RESISTANT.