WHAT A SHAME, RETURNING RESIDENT STABBED TO DEATH ONE MONTH AFTER BUYING HOME IN JAMAICA

WHEN Delroy Walker decided that he wanted to return home after years of living in the United Kingdom, no one imagined that the decision would have cost him his life.

But it did.

Walker, 63, was found dead. He had multiple stab wounds to his body.

Police told the Jamaica Observer North & East that about 9:15 am on April 19 a resident noticed a trail of blood leading from the house Walker and his wife had bought just months ago at Rio Nuevo Resort in Tower Isle, St Mary.

He had only returned to the country eight months ago and his wife was expected to join him in a matter of weeks.

“We are all really devastated over here in the UK. His wife, his children and my family are all distraught. The information we’re getting is sketchy, because he was alone there. They’re not sure if it’s robbery or what. He recently purchased that house; it’s such a shame. I mean, you try and go back to Jamaica and that’s what you get,” family friend Roy Staple told Observer North & East in a telephone interview.

Staple said he grew up with Walker, who was convinced that his country (Jamaica) needed people to return and help the economy, and that was what he was returning to do.

“Him and my bigger brother were best friends, wherever you saw one you saw the other so it’s just devastating. I just can’t believe it, to be honest with you. He went back to Jamaica trying to enjoy retirement and he didn’t get a chance to enjoy it. He was a kind man, very pleasant and decent,” Staple said, adding that he had made arrangements to visit him next month.

Walker’s wife is expected to visit the island shortly.

“People are just devastated. We just can’t believe it happened, you know. Our hearts just can’t manage, it’s distressing. We hope that they find the killer,” the man said.

The police have said that no one has been taken into custody, but they are following strong leads.

10 thoughts on “WHAT A SHAME, RETURNING RESIDENT STABBED TO DEATH ONE MONTH AFTER BUYING HOME IN JAMAICA

1. WHY WOULD ANYBODY MOVE BACK TO JAMAICA. SET OF TERRIBLE BEGGY BEGGY PEOPLE. I DONT EVEN WANT TO GO THERE ON VACATION. RIP SIR

1. Agree! Returning residents have a buleyes on their back. People have this need to g back and build their mansion and to be somebody for a change. The problem is, they become targets for all these beggars, young and old, who want to borrow you money, with no plans to repay. It is a constant barrage of money seekers. If people want to risk their lives, s be it.

2. :ngakak like we give a phuck if you ever return. Thank yu jesus say if you never leave you would a kill you self and come tun maggie pon we good good land.

2. Tragic. Imagine, the man just wanted to enjoy his retirement years where he was born. May his poor wife be comforted, all the best to his families and loved ones. It’s a shame so many Jamaicans have to choose to retire elsewhere than their born land.

3. It sad, bad! Some Jamaicans a farrin nuh read de news, or keep up wid de latest tings happening in Jamaica, fe really know what’s going on out there. Whether he did or not, condolences to this man (Delroy’s family)

4. WHO the blood of jesus really deh pon….a don’t kno what to say, speechless same f**kery all over again and again, paradise full a blood sucking parasites, its yesterday we talking how dem beg smaddy with barrel them mayonnaise till it done u automatically tun dem grocery store if u let dem in ur place dem eye all ova looking something fi rass teef

5. When me read this Mi just sad ppl cant retire a Jamaica again cause u life in danger and most of the case goes unsolve.. What is my beautiful island coming to..

6. Bad mind and red eye. Do you know how hard people have to work in cowl cold freezing weather. You all need to stop with you all bad mind.