WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT THIS?

Met weh yuh think about this?

*I agree. Jamaica neva have no business ina Calypso nothing, Reggae was our thing*

facebook_1459801303595

11 thoughts on “WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT THIS?

1. i disagree i feel with carnival ppl feel safe the crowd is different the music is different with dancehall/reggae when a nuh fight a man a fling woman all over the place who look better than who, ppl not even a dance a party again its now a fashion show so me reggae and dancehall is dead and have been that way for awhile now so sad to say reggae caan do this every year without sum crap happening cuz a bunch a waste ppl ago deh deh if not bout a dozen shot ago buss #ijs

2. Stfu… Carnival in Jamaica has become an international thing. It boast up the tourism system in the country and so much more.it everything can’t always be about reggae things and time has changed!!

3. What is he talking about Soca was in Jamaica before Bob Marley was even thinking about music. Byron Lee and the Dragonaires been around since the 1950s. Soca is very much a part of our culture, it was in Jamaica before it ever touched Trinidad. We as Jamaicans need to stop the uptown vs downtown, we vs them foolishness and support all aspects of our culture.

4. I just hate Soca and Carnival period, because of the double standard that it represents. When uptown ppl can go walk half naked and act like a fool, but dancehall culture and its patrons are criticized esp. the women for dressing half naked and frowned upon. I hate it!!!!!!!!

5. We do have a week long reggae festival and many other reggae shows, we have reggae cruise. Reggae was not created for bacchanal, reggae came out of Rastafarianism, so Reggae’s origin is in spiruality, turning it into a wine up thing would be a slap in the face of Reggae’s pioneers. Keep reggae vibes as pure as possible. Perhaps hosting a Niahbinghi festival and other things would be a step in the right direction.

6. i remember sparrow came to jamaica and performed quite a few times….and this was in the 70’s…saltfish was his big song then………i went to quite a few UWI carnival….and UWI has everybody…local and foreign uptown and downtown so its more been a celebration for the ppl and not just the elite……so carnival is not new to jamaica….i went to the first jamaica carnival…dollar wine was the big song that year…..when ppl like movado, kartel and alkaline are the big artistes, whose greatest legacy is to create divisiveness and demagoguery in the world of dancehall…(and please feel free to look up that word)….when none of them will have a legacy or any body of work that will stand the test of time…..if you listen to buju wanna be loved, things change or complaint the words will be true today as they were when the songs were first heard….on the other hand, ramping shop is now as irrelevant as the slang term from which it originated……and i could go on and on…..my point being…..when reggae and dancehall works to recapture the hearts, minds, soul and the strength of the jamaican ppl, carnival and soca will only be diversionary entertainment instead of a sociopolitical event delineating a classism and usurping the birth right of an entire generation…..that is all………..

1. No sah
      U mek mi feel bad seh mi never did a study mi vocabulary words inna school
      Go easy inna di day please

2. Man, you said a mouth full and I loved it. I couldn’t agree with you more . You clearly stated all that needs to be said, thank you sir. :sungkem

7. Very ignorant statement for someone in the music industry to make. So because no Soca artist is bigger than Bob Marley therefore carnival shouldn’t be celebrated in Jamaica? How could celebrating carnival is implying something negative about reggae. Carnival and reggae festivals is celebrated all over the world. what he need to so is to go make some good music.

8. He’s right, there are good clean reggae acts and people who support their music – it’s not all fights and slackness. The commercial support for carnival and soca events is always there, but lacking for reggae and dancehall – as usual we will wait until a foreigner comes and makes it into something big then we cuss about sell out.

It’s another piece of classism that exists in Jamaica – talk all people want, but it’s MOSTLY uptown people paying $500US for 2 scraps of cloth and the privilege to walk Kingston naked. There would be an outcry if somebody below HWT was walking around with TnA out, but none for these folks.

Me not caping for NO OTHER country music and put down ours. There must be great value in it if so many international artists sampling it, it bring together so many people and used as the backdrop for social change around the world. Never hear about soca doing that.

My brother gets paid to travel the world as sound engineer for well known AND foreign reggae acts, and people who never step a foot here making millions off our things. But we quick to dismiss our own and embrace other people things like we red eye, smh.