WOMAN IS PERSON OF INTEREST IN GUN FINDING AT NEWPORT WEST

The Counter-Terrorism and Organised Crime Investigation Branch (C-TOC) is searching for a St. Andrew woman for questioning in connection with Sunday’s arms and ammunition find at a warehouse at Newport West in Kingston.

The shipment of guns and ammunition, which was concealed as food items, was addressed to the individual.

Six guns and more than 500 rounds of ammunition were seized by the Customs Enforcement Team.

Shortly after midday, four hand guns, two M-16 rifles and 507 assorted rounds of ammunition were found in a barrel.

It was shipped from the United States and destined for an address in Kingston 11.

6 thoughts on “WOMAN IS PERSON OF INTEREST IN GUN FINDING AT NEWPORT WEST

1. JCF is a joke! Good police work would entail sitting back and watchig wbo comes to picj up the barrel and arrest them. Person of interest dosnt mean a thing.

1. @HotGal, I don’t think a person was going to show up to claim that barrel. From my understanding, those barrel with illegal guns and other contraband are removed from the regular process and taken out of Custom by corrupt employees and delivered to the the designated person.

That is why these barrel are secured immediately and details release to the press. Custom officials also do not want the public to know how corrupt the practice is, since they could watch the barrel and see which employee remove the barrel.

I personally know people who brought expensive vehicle (US$60K) in the States and pay someone in the States (US$3,000-$5,000) and the person is able to clear the vehicle in Jamaica without paying any custom duty, which is over $60K. The person who the guns were going to knew within minutes that the barrel was discovered with guns. That address and person of interest doesn’t exist, so the case is dead on arrival.

2. ALL barrels into the island should be x-rayed or unpacked before released to the owner. I have never shipped a barrel to Jamaica, but I thought the barrels are unpacked before the are release, so how are people shipping guns via barrels?

3. So all di news publish before dem keep it undercover and call di ooman een first fi come pick up her tings and nab who collect it then. Is wah kinda backwud operations did? Dem nuh setup sting before news network a publicize dis. Di ooman probably a roaw boat fi Bahamas or Cuba

4. I thought barrels are search thoroughly when the owner come to pick it up. My sister just visited brought 3 barrel down when she when to clear it every single thing she had to take out the barrel and she clear barrel every year and this year she said there were soldiers right next to her ensuring everything come out of those barrel. Good job in locating those because you never know who lives could be taken with those weapons.

5. Spot on anon. No such person exists been going on from the 80s. The same persons employed to search are the ones who move it out. Once the barrel pass inspection, someone with fake i.d. come and collect it. Sometimes the guns are there for months just waiting on the heat to cool off or when there is a break the run grab it n move. That is why they stop or rather ease off the sting thing because they can loose it from right under their noses. Corruption is the root of our crime problem. Hope after dem leave FLA dem go TAJ and Customs.

You also have to remember some of these workers fear for their lives as they cant trust anybody so they just play blind n deaf. Cousin was a guard at the Garmex one and TG man page him as him leave work. Him nuh go back.