A woman and two men accused of plotting to kill her Jamaican husband in Brooklyn, New York four years ago, were yesterday found guilty.
They are 29 year-old Alishia Noel-Murray, her boyfriend Dameon Lovell and 29 year-old Kirk Portious.
Prosecutors said Noel-Murray and Lovell hired Portious for US$3,500 to kill Mr. Murray so she could collect on three life insurance policies.
It is estimated that the policies have a combined value of almost US$900,000.
The court was told that they attempted to murder Mr. Murray twice.
Noel-Murray was convicted of first-degree murder following a jury trial in Brooklyn Supreme Court.
Lovell cooperated with prosecutors in exchange for 15 years to life in prison and was convicted by a separate jury of first-degree murder and second-degree criminal possession of a weapon.
The gunman was also sentenced.
Each defendant faces a life sentence without the possibility of parole when they are sentenced on June 29.
Yea man mek she spend nuff time …cause she nuh have much sense fi suh wicked.
She will get life.
Did they have any children together? I pray not. That would be such a burden psychologically for them. Kill the man because of money. No.conscience . I can guarantee those two would have never been happy had she received that insurance money….ole murderer. Blood is on your shoulders.
They had a 10-month old son at the time of the killing in 2013. She was also dating the guy who hired the hit man, Dameon Lovell, so it is not clear if that son belongs to the husband. I think she had another child before she got married to the husband.
Woman accused of hiring hitman to kill husband remarried and took out insurance policies on new spouse
A Brooklyn woman on trial for pulling together a plot to kill her husband in order to pocket $900,000 in insurance claims, remarried and took a policy out on her new spouse.
“Ms. Noel, you remarried in September 2014, correct?” asked Assistant District Attorney Emily Dean on cross-examination of Alishia Noel-Murray who took the stand in her defense on Tuesday.
Noel-Murray, 29, admitted that less than a year after her husband Omar Murray was gunned down inside their 204 Lott Ave. house, she started dating another man and tied the knot the following year.
“Did you take out any insurance policies on him (your new husband)?” Dean asked as Noel-Murray confirmed she did before the judge sustained her attorney’s objection.
http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/woman-accused-hiring-hitman-kill-husband-remarried-article-1.3226871