WTF AFRICA-WIFE SEH HUSBAND NAH BRING HOME NO BREAD

A woman, Amudat Lukman, had approached Oja Oba/Mapo Court C Customary Court, Ibadan, Oyo State, seeking the dissolution of her three-year-old marriage to her husband, Muraino Lukman.

Amudat had sued for divorce on the accounts that her husband was uncaring and neglected her and their only child. She added that he was fond of beating and sending her out of the house any time they had a misunderstanding.

She thus appealed to the court to dissolve their union, grant her custody of their son and make him responsible for their son’s welfare.

“I never knew I was signing off my peace and rest the day I got married to my husband. He acts in an irrational way and believes that as the head of the home, he’s always right.

“We are always at loggerhead because he picks fault at everything I do and when I complain, he beats the hell out of me.

“He not only stops at beating me, but also sends me out of the house.

“Any time he sends me out, I go back to my parents who make frantic efforts at resolving our differences. This has become a regular pattern, “the plaintiff said.

“He’s the breadwinner, but only God knows when last he fed me and our child. He knows we are expecting our second child, but he cares less about my health. He has refused to give me money to buy the necessary things for the baby.

“My lord, I’m tired of my husband’s irresponsible act. I’m also being careful not to develop high blood pressure due to my expectant state.

“I pray for divorce and custody of our child, “Amudat stated.

“It is true I beat my wife; I beat her because she’s rude and disobedient. She never listens or takes instructions from me, “the defendant said.

“We fight everyday because two captains cannot be in a ship.

“My lord, my wife did the most abominable thing; she beat my mother for mediating in our affair. She accused her of taking sides with me.

“She was unrepentant, neither did she show any sign of remorse. I, therefore, sent her packing.

“She took my belongings along with her when moving out and still arrested me with the police.

“My lord, I no longer want her under my roof. I’ve had enough of her.”

Having listened to the duo, the court president, Chief Ademola Odunade observed that their marriage had broken down irretrievably.

Ruling, Odunade dissolved their union and granted custody of the child to the plaintiff.

He ordered the defendant to pay N4,000 monthly through the court as their child’s feeding allowance and be responsible for his health care.

Muraino was further mandated to pay N12,000 also through the court as one year rent for the plaintiff’s new accommodation.