WTF AFRICA- WOMAN GI WHEY DI WRONG MAN DI PICKNEY

A trader, Taofik Azeez, has dragged his girlfriend, Ramota Adepoju to Ile Tuntun Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State, over paternity of his child.

Taofik in his suit stated that he impregnated Ramota while they were courting, but that she suddenly called it quits and married another person whom she claimed is the father of his child.

He, therefore, prayed the court to ensure that his son is brought back to him.

“I met Ramota in 2010 and we started dating. She already had a child and was a single parent.

“Deep into the relationship she told me she was two months pregnant. I told her I had two wives, but that I was ready to marry her as the third.

“She told me she was quitting the relationship and disappeared into thin air. I didn’t know her whereabouts since she had also changed her phone number.

“She called me months after that she had put to bed a baby boy.

“I asked her when she had the baby and the date she gave was seven months after she walked out of our relationship.

“I further asked if the baby was born premature and she answered ‘no’ and added that the baby was doing well.

“She called again three days after but I was out of town. She wanted to know why I was delaying in seeing her and the baby especially since the baby’s naming ceremony was in two days time.

“I told her I would check on her after the naming ceremony which I did after she described her place to me.

“On getting there, I asked her who the father of the child was, but she told me she was not sure. I also asked her why she named the baby after me (Taofik), but she didn’t give any reasonable answer. The child was sick so I decided we should take him to the hospital my family and I were using for medical attention. There, I explained the issue of the baby’s paternity to the doctor who carried out blood test on the three of us. The result showed that the baby is mine. I brought the photocopy as evidence (he presented it to the registrar who passed it to the court president), he stated.

“We started dating again and I attended her sister’s wedding at Ilesha with my friends and then decided to stay back to see her mother.

“I went to their family house, introduced myself and narrated to her mother all that had to do with our relationship and the issue of the baby. Her mother called her siblings, told them my mission and I was asked to stay in a room while she was called.

“Her family members asked her about me and she lied to them that we met two months ago.

They further asked her about the paternity of the baby and she told them she wasn’t sure and left their midst with the baby in anger.

“After that incident, no one knew her whereabouts for months. I couldn’t reach her on the phone or locate her. She later started calling me and raining curses at me,” the plaintiff stated.

“He’s a liar and had always told me lies,” Ramota said.

“I told him from the outset of our relationship that I already had a child for another man and he didn’t mind.

“I asked him if he was married and he told me he had a wife and two children. I later got to know he has two wives.

“He’s a big liar and he’s hardly straightforward and this always led to disagreement between us, “the defendant added.

“We dated for a year and made love only twice before we parted ways.

“I met another man shortly after this and we got married. By the time we got married I was already two months pregnant. In fact I was spitting and throwing up during our traditional wedding due to the discomfort I usually have in the early months of pregnancy.

“I put to bed 7 months later and received a call from Taofik congratulating me. I asked him how he knew and he said his friends informed him.

“He came to my shop about a year after asking that we start dating again and I refused. I have just finished preparing my meal and stepped out of the shop to pick something. Immediately I did so, he poured a substance into my food which I’m sure was to hypnotise me so that he could always have his way with me.

“I later heard he was peddling lies that he was the father of my child. I called and warned him but he failed to stop and later came to court.

The plaintiff and the defendant came to court with witnesses as was requested by the court in the summons given them.

Waheed Kazeem, witness to the plaintiff, stated that he knew Taofik and Ramota were dating and that the plaintiff told him about the pregnancy.

“ I was one of those who accompanied Taofik to attend Ramota’s sister’s wedding and I saw how they hugged and embraced. She also attended to us well.

“When they parted ways, I went with Taofik to Ramota’s place but she wasn’t around. The alfa we met testified that he knew Taofik because he was always paying Ramota visits, “he stated.

The defendant’s witness, Sukurat Adeoye, who was her ex mother in-law stated thus:

“When my son brought Ramota home, I observed that she wasn’t a maiden and I called my son’s attention to it. I told my son from the outset she’s not a wife material.

“He didn’t give it a thought. He came back to announce to me she was pregnant and that he had rented an apartment for her.

“I took care of her till she put to bed while my son was responsible for the child’s naming ceremony.

“Ramota’s landlord later informed me that she was always hosting different men in her room.

“She later moved out of the house without my son’s knowledge while no one knew where she moved to.

“My son later told me someone had been calling and disturbing him that the child was his.

“Ramota later showed up, informing me that my attention was needed in court on the issue of the child. My son insisted I shouldn’t go, but I made up my mind to come so that I would not be acting against the law.”

The court president, Chief Agbaje Olasunkanmi, after listening to the parties involved, stated that the evidence of the defendant’s mother will shed more light on the matter. He thus adjourned the case till April 19 and ordered that the defendant appear in court during the next hearing.