A READER WANTS YOUR OPINIONS

Would like to hear the thoughts about this letter from ur bloggers

Police-Denham-Town-Optimized

Dear Editor,

As a member of the Jamaica Constabulary Force I am forced to pen this letter, as a result of the death of my colleague, to openly ask where do human rights end and societal rights begin?

I have been a member of the force for 12 years, and over those years I have seen the collective rights of the society dwindle in the face of increasing human rights. While I have no problem with an individual’s human rights, I am forced to ask at what point do the rights of society take precedence.

On many operations I have been confronted by marauding men, and indeed women, armed with high-powered weapons. I have seen colleagues, weeping and crying in fear after being pinned down or shot by these individuals. No news team, no civil society groups, no neighbourhood demonstrations to come and say, stop! One is faced with the thought of being riddled with bullets, and all will be offered to your family is a statement of condemnation from sectors of society. No one bothers to think that, as an officer, I am carrying out my lawful duty and I have the same right as the next guy on the street.

I cannot understand why people think most policemen get up, see a young man or woman and just shoot them just because we think they should die. That, in most instances, is not the case, many of these individuals are sophisticated in how they operate and also are known to influential persons who can afford to sanctify them while demonising you. These individuals, by themselves, cannot buy bread, but in court have costly lawyers. I, on the other hand, will be forced to borrow from the credit union, family and friends to defend myself.

I am not writing to win any votes for the police force, because some of my colleagues have let us down. But I am writing to challenge the now seemingly popular view that everyone’s human rights trump that of society. When my colleague was shot, his right was not violated, it was taken from him. So was the right of his neighbours to their peace and serenity, as was the public’s reassurance that he, as an officer, would be there to protect them.

Growing up, I remember that if I was seen loitering during or after school hours the police officer was within right to take me home or reprimand me. Now we can only stand and talk. If my job is to protect the society in general, why are individuals who knowingly violate the rules and norms of society given greater support than the right of all of society to safety and freedom?

To the family of my slain colleague, I wish there was some way to bring him back. He, like hundreds before him, did not deserve to die because of another person’s bloodthirsty desire. He was entitled to the same protection and rights of all Jamaicans as the constitution states. Now, for those who executed him, and others who have committed similar acts, is it fair to just say their rights should be respected as they are still here? It is a question that is reverberating in my mind as I prepare to put on my bulletproof vest and take my assigned weapon to go on patrol. I just ask the good Lord to protect us and guide

the split-second decisions we have to make.

An Officer

JCF

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/letters/Human-vs-societal-rights–an-officer-asks_15253527#ixzz2i2ndrGLA

0 thoughts on “A READER WANTS YOUR OPINIONS

1. Morning Met, watchers and Sender;

I am in full support for the author and the content of this letter. I have strong ties to both entities (JDF/JCF) and hope daily that I will not have to be a direct mourner. Although I mourn in private for the loss of those not personally known to me.

Our officers are truly altruistic and too often no respect is shown and their good deeds evaporate with lies or the actions of the corrupt. Blessings are in store for the author and his fellow officers who go above and beyond to serve and protect a nation where they aren’t respected. Bless

2. A juss life mister. every job have dem own condemners people wi seh doctoah tink dem a god n kill off ppl wen di poor doctah dem get up to try diagnose and treat…it’s a true and harsh reality. I think you can just get up, pray n gwaan a work what is to be will be because Jamaica tuff a dutty n things gone baddddddd…wishing you safety while on the job.

3. It is called occupational hazard. They know when they become officers the danger they will face. Soldiers same thing. You don’t want to have criminals shoot at you, find another occupation. Life is all about choices.

4. Morning one and all…

I am in full support of this. Laws were made to be upheld. Without laws and lawmen this world would be chaos. Just as any other occupation, there are good, bad and corrupted individuals. I love my country and I’m proud to be Jamaican, but if I care to be honest, Jamaicans are unruly set of people. I also think the new generation are coming up with this mentality that they shouldn’t work hard to succeed, they just want fast life and easy living so they thief, scam, and kill. Men are raping young girls and killing them, men are going into communities and killing off family members if they have a problem with one person, lets not mention the trend of beheading…

A family member of mine, just phoned up from jamaica trying to scam my mother, telling her she win millions and she must go buy $500 card and give him the number on it. Her own nephew, his excuse when he got caught was it’s the way of living in Jamaica now, it’s an addiction, everyone is building big houses and driving nice cars from scamming. In support of the JCF Officer, I say they need to unleash the full force of security in JA and reinstate law and order. This is ridiculous!

5. Wat happen to di wul heap a unnecessary killings weh police do? Yuh figot di pregnant woman weh guh to di station fi help afta shi get rob an a police shoot har? And I can go on an on wid lot more cases……swear fi yuh self you nuh deh every weh wid every police suh it impossible fi know everything weh dem do….fi every case you make about a police rights violated, dere’s a case to be made about civilian rights being violated too, wedda police are civilian I condemn di shedding of innocent blood.

1. A de St. Thomas news you referencing to regarding the pregnant woman? If so you have the story wrong. Woman never went to the station and the case involves 3 women all sisters

6. sorry for the lost but there is two side to it in america people hardly fire at police because police in america dont act as law men/judge/executioner .I use to be police officer in jamaica and u would be surprised to know what we glorify as officers

7. Dear writer…I think one big problem here is that many of ur colleagues are failing to set a proper example for the very people that they are trying to enforce the laws upon. because of the corruption within ur ranks I think that is why u wont find people coming out and protesting when officers are murdered. Criminals are criminals but u cannot expect everyday people to be on ur side when so many of ur colleagues are criminals as well. Leading by example needs to become more prevalent or they need to start firing the ones that cant.

1. all of this comes back to economics, the reason countries like uk, france, germany etc have a more efficient police force is because their governments pay big money to give them the best training, equipment and personnel available. a country that can barely keep the streetlights on and fix roads is not going to be at the same level, naturally some are gonna think that fighting fire with fire is the best way to solve crime in the short term, but in reality what it does is breed contempt for the police force and can end up making people choose criminals over them as they are seen as the lesser evil.

8. @sweet, the majority of the people who get shot in jamaica are not police, so we can also extend that logic and say well if you never want get shot and killed you shouldnt live in a country with a crime rate like jamaica.

how about the shopkeepers who get rob and killed, they shouldnt sell goods because dem know say shoppy get rob often? how about people who get killed for their phones, stop use phone because dem know man get kill for phone and even much less.

the fact is jamaican police are faced with a threat that only maybe police in brazil,mexico, venezuela, south africa etc can understand. so no man dont come in here come talk bout usa or england police cause they dont have a clue what the average jamaican police is up against.

mi notice when trayvon martin, a likkle cruff from america dead, jmg woman dem come on here a bawl, but a jamaican man who is clearly in a bad place go as far as to send in this letter and nobody gives a shit. the pregnant woman dont have nuttin to do with this police officer, so whats the point of mentioning dat.

1. Amen. We own join protest in America in an orderly manner. They sey yes officer and no officer.

Them maintain law and order abroad so that they don’t get deported and go so far as to switch citizenship. Them pay taxes on time so they don’t get fined…them recycle them trash and look fi de nearest garbage bin fi fling dem garbage. They don’t challenge police to a fight nor look fi jump police abroad and dem pay dem rent widout challenging the owner fi put dem out and all glad fi serve pon jury… how easily we forget.

9. Only child if yu don’t kno wat the f**k yu saying shut the f**k up….wat the f**k Travon Martin has to do with this??? And wat yu kno about di people dem pickney yu a call him cruff? Yu sound like a f**king dunce… Answer 202 seh he or she use to work in di police force and yu a act like yu kno more dan everybody else….yes there is good cop and bad and even di sender acknowledge dat too…sender I’m so sorry to hear that one of ur colleague has lost his life,my condolence goes out to u and his fam….I’m not one to side with any criminal but it hurt sometime to know u have a lot of bad cop working among good cops who are trying to do their job lawfully

10. Sender need fi guh look somewhere else fi sympathy. When yu ready fi start name out yu corrupt comrades, come back mek mi shed two tears fi yu…***kiss teet***. Nuhbaddi here bawn behind cow. Most of us here know police in JA are the biggest criminals, and the few real badman ah yard ongle keep dem wig with police assistance. Guh to the media, call for a news conference and rat out the killers, extortionists, druggists, enforcers in the JCF. Until then…..FU¢K OFF!!!!

1. So Willie, this can go two ways…cause the sender can remover the word sender and sey…willie yu need fi guh… and all change up “Most of us here know PEOPLE in JA …”

We cannot reach no where if we have to be so blatantly disrespectful. De sender/ officer may have saved somebody close to you life and here you are doing what I’ve witnessed for ages and yet we expect better? Come on now I would think you’re way above this, now should I see you as you see ALL a Jamaica police officers?

There was a person on here with a TRUE tale to tell of corrupt officers and even she don’t hold de grudge and contempt one would expect of her….wonder whey she deh. Her story is about her father.

11. “Where do human rights end & societal rights begin?”

This question, in my opinion, don’t mek sense? Isn’t society made up of humans? And sender, just by the way that you posed that question, one would think that you or the police, seem to think that you/police or your rights/police rights takes precedence over civilian rights? And that the police is judge & jury.

And that is what will forever be the antagonizing issue between civilians & police. Condolences to your fallen colleague & condolences to ANY & EVERY person who’s blood has been shed innocently or wrongfully.