DISGRACE, EX-NAVY SEAL RETURNS TO JAMAICA AFTER 30 YEARS , SHOT

front-navy-Optimized

A Jamaican who is a retired member of the US Navy says he intends to take legal action against a local security company after one of its employees, he claims, shot and paralysed him last month.

Retired Petty Officer Trevor Delano Jones Jr, who is still bed-ridden at Spanish Town Hospital in St Catherine, told the Jamaica Observer yesterday that he was shot on June 5 at the Portmore Toll Plaza.

The 49-year-old Jones, who said he spent more than eight years in the US Navy, told the Observer that he arrived in Jamaica last year with the intention of spending a few months with his mother in Greenwich Town, given that he had left Jamaica more than 30 years ago.

The father of five children said that on the night of June 5 he was riding a bicycle from Portmore back to Greenwich Town, missed a turn and ended up on the toll road.

“When I reached the toll booth I was ordered to stop by a security guard,” Jones said. “I complied, parked my bycicle and was proceeding to take out my ID to show to the guard and was shot three times.”

He said the first bullet threw him to the ground, after which “the guard came over me and pumped two other bullets into my body” .

He said that later he was thrown into a vehicle by police and taken to Spanish Town Hospital.

Jones said he spent several weeks in the hospital unable to contact his family. “It was after I got access to the Internet I was able to inform them of my situation,” Jones said.

“I am moving to take legal action against the security company for the injuries that I have received. I was attacked and shot for no reason and then brought to the hospital and abandoned,” said Jones.

“At least six security guards were at the location watching at the time, so there was no need to use force,” he added.

“I am also disappointed with how I was treated by the police who also came and took me from the scene. No thought was taken into moving me in the correct way to avoid further injuries and also how I was transported from the area,” he said.

“I was placed in the hospital; no effort was made by authorities to contact my family to even inform them of my condition,” he said further.

“At this point the hospital doesn’t have all of the equipment to deal with my current case,” Jones said, adding that he is now trying to get help to return to his home in Georgia where he can receive adequate medical treatement at a military hospital.

Yesterday, his mother, Pauline Jones, who said she was disappointed with the treatment meted out to her son, appealed for help.

0 thoughts on “DISGRACE, EX-NAVY SEAL RETURNS TO JAMAICA AFTER 30 YEARS , SHOT

1. These are the things that the Jamaican government need to concern themselves with and leave LBGT issues alone.

They are allowing in-trained security personnel to carry guns and shoot law abiding people. Imagine the man cannot wait to leave the island

1. So the government is allowing untrained gun-carrying security guards to shoot innocent Jamaicans? Name me one country which doesn’t allow private security people to carry guns? Who said the shooter was untrained (in-trained)?

For someone who has live in the US for over 30 years, how could he not know he was entering a toll road? Why was he riding a bicycle at night? 30 years in the US and never visited his mother in the Jamaica? Sound to me that this guy has some mental issues.

1. @ Anonymous You are a sick illiterate fool. Because he made a mistake and entered a toll roll does that warrant him being shot 3 times? How does that draw the conclusion of him being mentally ill? He did the right thing, he stopped and was about to provide identification. Even when the first shot hit and he fell what was the cause of him being shot 2 additional times? It’s dumb people like you that is causing Jamaica to sink.
        Considering it’s a private security company, I am sure he can bring a lawsuit and be awarded. I hope he runs that company into the ground financially. Sorry for all the other securities who will be affected but it is the companies responsibility to provide trained guards and it is the governments responsibility to ensure that they are awarding a contract to a company with properly trained guards to deal with the public. Public safety comes first!!! other innocent people could have been hurt by strayed bullet(s). This is a public safety issue.

2. Anony 9:20..how could u write such a thing inna u battam paragraph.How di man fi know how di road or toll set up and him nuh live deh when none did exist.Me work in a very busy city a daytime weh mi frequent 4-5 days outta di week fi over 13years and get lost one night fi pick up mi cousin from di greyhound station that is one block from mi job,things happen.U r too quick to judge him and saying how him nuh visit his mom in how long.Him mother probably visit him more often suh him nuh have to travel there,so many reasons….u r so harsh,have a little bit a empathy nuh

1. All when u do no wrong u wrong fi some people. I cant even comment pan dis because when I looked at his leg strapped down on that bed my heart ache

1. Where in the picture do YOU see “his leg strapped down on that bed”? The only thing I see is a plastic tube going over one leg. Is that the strap you are referring to?

Where in that article do you see anything that said he was a Navy Seal (elite Special Op Group)? The heading said Navy Sailor and you change it to Navy Seal. Yuh good oooo (I got that from you) :thumbup

Why don’t you stop make up things as you go along? Are you anti-police? I think so!

2. The tube mi call strap…Navy sailor different from Navy Seal? Mi never know dat cause mi nah study so that was an error if dem different..Mi anti everything not jus police..

3. @Met said on July 10, 2015 at 12:53pm

Alright Met, if you say so, I have to agree with you because mi nuh want yuh ban mi ooooo

But, the Navy Seal is a highly trained, very selective and very-very elite unit of the Navy. That was the group the CIA use to get Osama bin Laden. I don’t remember seeing a black member of that group (there are probably black members of the group, I just haven’t see or hear of any x-members).

4. :ngakak dont laugh u know everybaddie go ina di navy mi tink a navy seal..we learn everyday and me never yet fraid fi seh mi doe know..but it look like u a police peggy oo :nerd

2. Met @July 10, 2015 at 2:37pm

I know you would end up insulting me sooner or later. What ups with the Police Peggy Comment? What or who is a “Police Peggy”? Mi never hear that one before and it doesn’t sound too complimentary.

2. What a damn disgrace ehh Met?! Too friggin trigger happy! Bun me fi dem.. Now the man cyah walk.. weh yuh ah go tell him seh? Sorry!??! kmt

I wish I could tell him that he would get something out of that lawsuit.. But JA nuh deal so ah tall.. extremely unfortunate

3. Nutten more dem judge him think seh him homeless or something…the Navy will send for him in no time to get the urgent medical needs he requires.Guess they didn’t think he would survive.This is so sad

4. These sick savages in Jamaica with guns !!!! No regards for life. Not only in Jamaica but all over the Caribbean this heartless shooting and killing getting worse . God put a hand !
    This story brought tears to my eyes. A TRIGGER HAPPY BUM with a gun who probably failed the police test and end up security and a proper life RUINED.

Tragedy how Jamaica treats an injured decorated citizen who return to his mother’s land .
    So so sad. Then the jackass bunch of medical workers who probably though he was just a common criminal and made no attempt to contact his family’. Blame on d social service department as well. HOW BACKWARD IS JAMAICA ?? really this story is WRONG and SAD on so so many levels .

I pray for a speedy recovery , come out of d monkey town hospital fast and get yourself into a professional place for treatment. Hope u walk again.
    And mammy, he will be okay. Don’t cry

5. I read this story and I am confused. This story doesn’t make to much sense to me. Granted I know that these officers/guards are terrible but I cannot understand how these security guards will shoot an innocent man for no justifiable reason. If this is the case then these guards are criminals and do not need to free. Are these guards in prison? Is there an ongoing investigation? I hope he gets the help he needs to return to the US to get the necessary medical attention needed.

6. I am sure there were cameras there and INDECOM should make sure these trigger happy fools end up in prison.

7. There’s something off about this story. As bad as Jamaica is, I’ve never heard about security guards just shooting people for no reason. The only people I know that do that in Jamaica are the police. So far we’ve only heard one side of the story. I hope the toll booth has some surveillance system so if the security guard is guilty he gets the punishment he deserves.

1. Why uno always a doubt that it could be that bad? Maybe they are off duty police that are working- Did u hear the case the other day with the police men who shot the man n killed him for absolutely nothing? The man was to report to the station daily and he went, they saw him and did almost the very same thing they did to this man.. .For NOTHING..Give the man the benefit of the doubt for now until proven otherwise

2. Being American, British or Canadian doesn’t make you automatically right. I heard a foreigner ‘style up’ a security guard at a Government office the other day. Tell him how him will ‘kick his ass’. Mi just take time tek weh miself, nuh able fi stray bullet.

8. I hope things work out for him. Why don’t he use him return ticket to go back to Georgia? Is it that he needs Air Ambulance to be transported back to he US.

9. My question is, how come the police drop him at the hospital without filing a report? when you turn up at a hospital with gun shot shouldnt a report made? maybe its an officer in clothes shot him and the others cover it up by not making a report on their colleague. If he just make a wrong turn why shot him n hes unarmed?

1. Likely they thought he would have died.

Anybody can get lost anywhere, wasn’t it just a few years ago a woman was using a Google walking map and walked unto a highway. I cannot imagine for someone who was active in the military to lose their mobility and what effect that has on their psyche. I truly wish him all the best. So tired of the sad stories everyday.

10. something wrong with this picture.. If he was a Navy Seal chances are he is a US citizen. all he would need to do is contact the embassy and he would have been flown back long time..something dont add up

11. Fist thing first….the man who get shot story nuh right. How did he reach portmore in the first place? Where did he get a bicycle from to ride there. Why did he not take a bus? If yuh don’t know somewhere, why the f**k yuh riding to there? Which turn did he miss and end up on the toll booth. If he did not visits his mother in 30 years, how him know port more. Did he frequent Jamaica? So the security see this man on bicycle riding on the toll at 10:00 when nuff car still deh a road. Tell him to stop and the man rush inna him pocket fi him ID. Why would he need an ID? To do what, say that him have permission to ride on the toll booth? Then when him dip fi him ID the security buss him. Den when him on the ground a dead. Infron of everobody, the security buss two more inna him…..story stink…a one ting wid us jamaicans, anyting fi do wid police and security or law eva wrong. We nuh think fi wi self. Look at the mumma statement again to

1. Uh oh! “They” are going to call you “sick illiterate fool” or without “empathy”, like they label my comment @9:20am. “The moderator” might even call you “Police Peggy” if you are not careful. :ngakak

Here is the thing:

……Jones said, adding that he is now trying to get help to return to his home in Georgia where he can receive adequate medical treatment at a military hospital.

Help from? He want to to believe that he has 5 kids in the US and not one of them can assist him to return to Georgia? He said he came to Jamaica with the intention of staying a “few” months, yet more 6 months later he is still there, riding his bicycle on a busy highway at 10:00 at night. Obviously, the man doesn’t deserve to be shot, but there is much more to this story.

They are those who think we should all fall inline and group think like themselves and fall victim to the ghetto mentality and anti-police bias.

12. Oiee you dummys up top… Didn’t y’all read that he been on the island since last. What do mean if he don’t know where he’s going he shouldn’t travel by bicycle. What they did was wrong. How can u shoot an unarmed man who was no threat to you after u shoot him. An even with gps ppl still get lost… so what u mean how he got lost? I been through tolls before taking the wrong exit an I explain it an they direct me where to turn around and they didn’t charge me.