IS WHO SHE?

Jamaican Artist Says Rihanna Stole Her Doobie Wrap Hairstyle

Rihanna performed “Diamonds” on stage Sunday night before she accepted the show’s first ever ICON Award from her mother. The singer’s hair was wrapped in what’s called a doobie with studded bobby pins holding it in place.

Via EnStarz reports:

In the statement, the unnamed manager wrote, “I am writing to express my extreme frustration and anger over the blatant theft of an image that my former artist and I cultivated…The image that we were trying to run with [was] what Patwa knew from the streets, which was the doobie wrap. She wore it proudly with pinned jeweled pins to signify she was a Queen and this was her ghetto crown.”

The manager went on to say that in 2010 he and his client posted a number of videos with Patwa’s hair wrapped in the doobie. Patwa was also offered a development deal with Roc Nation, which is also Rihanna’s current label, if she agreed to “soften” her image and overall sound. However, she and the manager refused and walked away.

“I’ve never told [Patwa] but I always wondered what if we had softened up and changed that hair. Fast forward to 11/24/13 and who do I see grace my flat screen while sitting in my modest one bedroom apartment wearing a doobie wrap with jeweled pins at the AMAs,” the manager worte. “Roc Nation’s own Ri Ri. I honestly felt violated.”

The letter also revealed that Rihanna and Patwa met in 2011. The Barbados singer allegedly complimented Patwa’s doobie hair and asked who styled it.

“I just find it very insulting that something we brought to those people was too ‘ghetto.’ But now RIhanna can accept awards while proudly displaying it,” the letter read. “I am really hurt by this and wanted to scream.”

0 thoughts on “IS WHO SHE?

1. If that is the case den Riri tief nuff a wi doobie hairstyle den. Causen sey when mi guh a di Dominican dem guh get mi treatment and blow out mi hair before mi weave it, a suh mi lef di shop wid mi hair. Girl byeeee>>>>>>>>>next please. Attention shi looking :alay

2. really? soooo shame on every hair stylist that copies Patwa style by wrapping their clients head, you should all be sued LOL

3. She sound good thou met . Idk about she and riri she get a lil extra view now she better thank riri to steal her hairstyle lol

4. KMT….. lawd ppl are something else… Who doesnt wear a damn doobie from time to time and Ive seen bedazzled doobies.. colorful pin doobies and the list goes on! All of wear the “ghetto crown”. Gurrl bye!

5. Ah mad dem mad true dem neva tek da deal wid RocNation! Coo she too. RiRi softened-up her look, while always re-inventing her look!
    Patwa, u soun gud, your hair-style iz nice……..u gonna b mad if I rock it too!!?
    Riri waz lukin someting different, and remembered u and your hairstyle….I would b pissed to!!!!! U must hav kicked yourself several times!
    Good day JMG, Met, jmg crew, blogges, peepers an all, blessup.

6. Kiss mi rass really???!!!!! Every other week mi go wash and curl and a so it get wrap except fi d jewel pin and that wrap a from whoppy kill phillop! Not even did know is a hairstyle. Unuh shudda copyright it. Kmft

7. Me been ah wear doobies before when dis likkle girl even born, still inna ar daddy seed bag. Chile please! :hoax2 She sound real damn good though :2thumbup

8. I think the man main intention is fi ilite seh dem seh fi him artiste fi tone down and change immage. Fast worward 2 years later dem rewind and copy di image. Thats f up. To each his own. Give a compliment. DONT chastise. Now it look like it was premeditated

9. Har manager smart best way fi introduce ur artiste with bare controversy BACKA DAT lollllll the B ting tight I’m predicting she will b getting a lot of calls now
    CLARENDON IN THE PLACEEEEEEE

10. She sound good for real!

I guess in this industry you haffi squeeze in yuh big toe inna di door BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY & den bust it wide open wid you skills. This girl can do that with her skills she sound good!

She just don’t need fi gwaan TOO HARD over di doobie still, steer all conversation & interviews to her music & cut & go thru!

11. I get the managers point…When she go see camel mouth har style did too ghetto, yet it nu ghetto fi him asset fi wear pon stage while collecting an icon award.

12. Yow PATWA! Yu remind me a me self…girly and bad breed at de same time! yu all reach deep and sey Clarendon inna yu lyrics when de yaardie dem stuck pon town….Big Up Chica!

Pardon rhianna even doe har people dem molest we folks a dem airport (lyrics idea…lol)

13. Mi jus waan know if har money haffi split 10 ways cause it look like bout 10 or more of har breddren dem ina di video an every baddie ago claim say dem was there from day one. She sound good. Lets hope she get di right ppl round har . Good luck

14. I was saying the same ting she sounds good, I can appreciate the double standard thing but otherwise the hairstyle anuh really hairstyle most women wrap dem head suh after it wash or flat iron, her manager betta milk dis d right way

15. Patwa need to shut the f**k up and stop trying to make herself relevant. Bitch stop trying to get a come up off ah Rihanna. She look and sound like an ASS!!!!

16. IS THIS SUPPOSE TO BE RUNNING RIRI FOOT HOT.
    SHE REALLY DONT KNOW SHE IS MESSING WITH.
    JUST WAIT RIRI WILL DEAL WITH HER CASE

17. Nuff woman wear doobie rap around di house, to bed, are prolly to di corner store, di question is how much a unu wear it out to somewhere like on a first date, are to di club, are in riri case an awardshow…..di issue is who turn it in to a fashion statement first? I tink riri did copy it in dat perspective, nuttn nuh wrong wid di girl a try gain som publicity from it now, dis di society wi living in now, everybody in entertainment do tings to get publicity nuh care how famous dem already is….shi sound good still lol

18. Smart move pon deh onr ya,controversy sell.As dem say any publicy a good thing fi buss an artist.She could a strip naked like Miss D fi get di buss ,but di chose di route,.More power to Miss Patwa she,she sound like she a go mek it.

19. One stop old on people you people are getting the thing wrong Rhianna did not know about that here style record less say it’s been around for long time she copied the girl here style This girl is the next best thing so Rhianna saw the girl in year’s time and copied it about the girl patois she should be thanking Rhianna four birth in that year’s Style now she can Donna please think Ana Mashal the world now

20. :cool :cool :cool :cool :cool :cool :cool :cool One stop old on people you people are getting the thing wrong Rhianna did not know about that here style record less say it’s been around for long time she copied the girl here style This girl is the next best thing so Rhianna saw the girl in year’s time and copied it about the girl patois she should be thanking Rhianna four birth in that year’s Style now she can Donna please think Ana Mashal the world now