JAMAICAN WOMAN CAUGHT WITH 76K US RETURNS TO COURT

A Jamaican-born American who was reportedly caught entering the island with US$76,180 which she failed to declare, is scheduled to return to the Kingston and St Andrew Parish Court on Monday.

Coline Brown, 39, of New Jersey, is facing charges of bringing into Jamaica criminal property, possession of criminal property, failing to report and concealment of criminal property.

The allegations against Brown are that on July 8 she arrived in Kingston at the Norman Manley International Airport and joined the “Nothing to declare” line in the customs hall.

During an interview with customs officers she was asked about the contents of her luggage and she reportedly declared a laptop and clothes.

Brown’s bag was reportedly scanned and showed anomalies. On close inspection, an abnormal bulge on the outer perimeter of the bag was reportedly observed.

The bag was cut open and several sealed transparent bags containing US$76,180 were reportedly found in what was said to be a false compartment.

According to the police, Brown told them that she did not know that the money was inside the bag and that she had borrowed it from her cousin.

She was subsequently arrested and charged.

On Thursday when the matter was mentioned, Brown’s attorney, Queen’s Counsel Tom Tavares-Finson, asked for the matter to be rescheduled to Monday for him to make submissions to the court.

As a result, Brown’s bail was extended by Senior Parish Judge Judith Pusey.

6 thoughts on “JAMAICAN WOMAN CAUGHT WITH 76K US RETURNS TO COURT

1. She has Taveres as lawyer and she wants the court to believe she’s innocent, a better she opted for a no name representative

2. She could have spent less than 4000 of that money to have 8 people fly down and bring the legal amount of 9999 or less each and still have her freedom and 60 add thousand. After she put them up.

3. Mr Bobby sir……yu need fi confiscate all dis $US an guh buy some police cyaar wid it. Any vehicle used in the commission of a crime, unless previously reported stolen, must be confiscated and used for law enforcement purposes. nuh long drawn out ting. Stop mek deez police “secure” the evidence and when trial come dem cannot find it….cho.

4. According to the police, Brown told them that she did not know that the money was inside the bag and that she had borrowed it from her cousin.

Do these bulk cash smugglers really believe that the Jamaica police are that stupid? Let me see, your cousin loan you a piece of luggage which so happens to contain US$76K in cash? I wonder if I’m related to that cousin of hers? I would love to borrow a few of his/her luggage on my next visit to Jamaica.

Next time use a white American born smuggler, since it is more likely they will NOT be searched upon entering custom.

5. Me ago want these bitches find new ways to export dem money. Three times from the year start I’ve been stopped to ask how much money me have with me. Frequent travelers, in short intervals, are automatically suspect.

6. Cousin cayliss bad fi lend you har bag wid so much money inside (and nuh remember) gtfoh….you take Jamaican authorities fi cartoon. Robber Finson going to nyam out another US$76k from you PLUS you going to get a “sentance”.