JAMAICANS GIVEN 5 YEARS FOR TRAFFICKING 60 LBS OF GANJA IN GUYANA

go_to_jail
Two Jamaicans who were held with over 60 pounds of ganja at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA) in Guyana last April were sentenced to five years each when they appeared in the Georgetown Magistrate’s Court on Tuesday.
Jailed are 27-year-old Benjamin Carrington a former vendor and 32-year-old hairdresser Tamara Douglas, Guyana’s starbroeknews.com and kaieteur news online reported.
Carrington, was fined $25,181,000 (Guyanese dollars) and sentenced to 60 months imprisonment for having in his possession 15.454 kilograms (34 lbs) of ganja for the purpose of trafficking. Douglas, was fined $18,408,000 (Guyanese dollars) and sentenced to 56 months imprisonment for having in her possession 12.272 kilograms (27lbs) of marijuana for trafficking purposes.
The court heard that both defendants confessed in writing that they were the ones who packed their suitcases without any assistance.
They were then called and asked to identify their luggage to which they complied and a physical search was conducted whereby police uncovered the illicit substance contained in transparent plastic bags.
They were subsequently arrested and taken to the Headquarters of the Criminal Investigations Division (CID) where the cannabis was weighed and they were charged.
The two were represented by Attorney-At-Law Motee Singh. They are set to appeal the sentencing.
ADVERTISEMENT

0 thoughts on “JAMAICANS GIVEN 5 YEARS FOR TRAFFICKING 60 LBS OF GANJA IN GUYANA

1. Di ongle way you can ship u ting now is wid a mechanical shark or a drone.
    Bout time dese top henchman invest eena technology and stop use up ppl and mash up lives. A fool up di ppl dem bout dem will get chu when dawg a smell u fram u step outta di taxi..kmt All I knows is when dat 5yrs done dem will never look pon curry di same again.

Leave a Reply to black knight Cancel reply