LASCO THREATENING TO PULL OUT OF JAMAICA

lasco

Following the proposal of ‘Cess’ , a duty to be charged on refined sugar, the Lasco industrial group has threatened to take its business to Trinidad.

The ‘Cess’ proposed would be $35 USD on every ton of imported refined sugar and would be charged on every imported product that has sugar.

Chairman of the Lasco industrial group, Lascelles Chin, says the extra duty to be charged on sugar would have to be passed down to Jamaican consumers who are already facing high retail costs. Mr. Chin says the raising production costs will cut into his business’ profit and Trinidad is already fond of his products so there will be no problem marketing his products there.

0 thoughts on “LASCO THREATENING TO PULL OUT OF JAMAICA

1. Imposing more taxes will not fix our problems Portia, it will only make things worse. Don’t you see the domino effect you would be creating Ms. Airhead? Damn idiots

1. a nuh dat..sugar production a di lowest its ever been since 1965 so mi wudda love fi know if dem nah produce how dem fi tax ? ..and dem a bawl bout a sugar producers a complain dem sick mi as usual

2. But the thing is MET y dem importing sugar in d first place when Jamaica have soo much sugar dung de?? Is this n attempt to get the local businesses to use more local products or what?? Enlighten me causen say me no know but 1 ting me know d GOVT dem always waan find away fi get more money fr business fi put in a dem own pocket

1. Jamaica nah produce enough sugar for one..two dem nuh have refined sugar that a sugar alternatives etc ..so those have to be imported

1. Is producing Honey an option? Not sure what the interaction between the Honey Bee and the existing Wasp population would be?

3. Ratid so sugar low n dem know so obviously what other way to tief more money is to implement a new tax pon sugar whe almost in a every single ting ppl nyam, yo me a tell u bout da GOVT ya Jah know a my sister me waan get out a da plca de u know cause me see say Jamaica na go better cause every party whe come in a d same fukery

1. As in artificial sweeteners ? Dem things de no good if consumption at all . Am thinking they need to produce more sugar, dem have the resources. One thing I notice about Jamaica is dem don’t know how to manipulate the growth of certain proudece so that it is available throughout the seasons. I have seen it done with banana in other countries.

1. Well just as the sugar not good, manipulating growth patterns worse..banana grow all year round it nuh have a season but other fruits do have their time and wi can leave that fi nature…cancer oo…mi fraid..anyway…Artificial sweeteners not good but dem seh dem use it in sodas and some cereals ..Jamaica need to get more involved in the science of food before dem impose taxes

4. Let me apologize ahead ah time. Sorrrrry. But isn’t Lasco ‘s product something that they would normally give to “food for the poor” free of cost in those countries with malnutrition?

Me wouldn’t mind Mr Chin gwan back home wid him Milk Powder and Sugar mixup . It is not healthy and maybe the mothers will start feed them kids like they did back in the days.. Real porridge and Real cooking. All of a sudden Jamaica get so Americanize that ppl stop cook at home. Fi all I know Dem a feed dem food fi keep dem unda di spell weh dem unda dung deh.

:sorry
    :tkp :tkp

1. i never buy a lasco brand nutten yet … not even the milk powder why missa chin dont gwan to trinidad is poor people he benefit from because lasco is the affordable product in jamaica.. & it really is not healthy

5. Met I don’t drink soda nor sweet cereals. The manipulation of banana that I saw was done on a Eco form the growth pattern was not done artificial at all. I am going to look it up, I don’t remember the pattern that was used.

1. We have banana all year roun in Jamaica…That manipulation may be through green house growth where they can manipulate the environment

1. So why dem importing banana to Jamaica…is it because of trade deals?

Me stay a meca an see hole heap a Chiquita banana boxes a Jamaica ,me know dem no hop pan ship go Jamaica….the were bought in

:ngakak

6. I’ve seen Lascos powdered products in the supermarkets but never bought any, don’t know what they taste like.

1. The supermarkets in Jamaica laced with process food. Kids are not eating healthy anymore, all they do now is put their food in microwave or feed the them fast food.

1. yes it bad out there now so so fast food nobody not cooking in jamaica especially in kingston…u raise a valid point

7. So where r the honey farms? Why Jamaica so stuck and backward is like we can never see the obvious things to do. Look how much young people roaming street a day time listen set up some farm and thing and work with some of these agricultural students to find some solution.

1. aye…and a lot of land not being use…how honey fi short in jamaica where so many trees and flowers are…NO FARMING nah gwaan thats all

2. This generation of young folks are not interested in farming. Jamaica only hopes are those in colleges studying Agriculture.

1. That a di only way fi grow back our economy..I met a man a few weeks ago..dunno what him do but he said the best farm land he has seen is in La and Jamaica..him a wonder how no farming nah gwaan

1. We’ll see. Coming by later for dinner, and please don’t served me dumplings that you used spoon to form.

1. Thursday here?? No ma’am mi a bake turkey with two irish and some dumplings eno………dat liable fi change doe lol

8. What you guys don’t realize is they allow manufacturers to import sugar as a raw input for the production processes, without any type of import taxes. Well, what some of these manufacturers have been doing is to import sugar and instead of using it in their production process (making let say, bun), are fraudulenty selling the raw sugar on the open market. So, a large amount of the import sugar does not go toward making any product, but is sold on the open market, thereby cheating the government of import taxes. That is what is behind an attempt to charge a flat tax on all imported sugar. It is the people that are gaming the system that is behind this push.

Import duty is an attempt to prevent the total destruction of the local sugar industry. Jamaica cannot compete on the open market with countries like Brazil, where farmers are planting a millions acres of sugar, while Jamaica is only planting a few thousands of acres and using manual labor to harvest the crop.

9. My 90! Year old grand aunt love her lasso everyte a relative down we at least 12 for her. I just came back 2 weeks ago and brought some . If them move to Trinidad. I will not support them anymore. Sorry but I’m will not support Trinidad.

1. did u know most of the snacks we OH SO LOVEEEEE in jamaica are products or Trinidad & Tobago ?? sad but true almost ALLL of them BIG FOOT especially 🙂

10. HOW DID WE GET TO THIS? THE COUNTRY THAT USED TO PRODUCE SO MUCH SUGAR CANE IT MADE ENGLAND RICH, IS NOW HAVING TO IMPORT SUGAR? WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON. I SAY IT EVERY DAY. JAMAICA TOOK A WRONG TURN 40 YRS AGO AND WE ARE NOW IN DEEP SHIT. WE NEED TO BE MORE SELF SUFFICIENT LOOK HOW CUBA DOING JUST FINE WITHOUT ANY IMPORTATION, THEY PRODUCE EVERYTHING THEY NEED.

1. Jamaicans get lazy sweet dem doe waa work..Cuba all mek strides ina science and medicine without anything..Jamaica worthless

11. it all boils down to the crime that is affecting the country. Due to this alarming crime rate, it has affected investors to invest in whatever business ideas. It affects businesses to invest their profits in other countries. Even the typical Jamaicans who migrate overseas, they are saving in other countries, Hence all ideas takes fundings. As was mentioned above, we made a huge mistake 40 years ago to be independent. IF one might take a look at the overhead expense to operate a sugar industry and how long it takes to place 1kg of sugar on the market in relation to import a container of the said sugar and place 1kg on the market, the result would be surprising.

12. I like posts like these met. All Bauxite weh use to be one of our main sources of income .. GOOOOONE to the dogssss a just weh day mi hear seh dem open back Alpart after how much years it lock down. kmft

13. The destruction of the environment, along with the constant use of all these chemicals are dangerous to the bees. The population of bees are getting less and less. Once we have no more bees, its quite clear our country and world will suffer greatly. The propaganda on Zik-v and everywhere doing fogging, using those dangerous chemicals. NOT GOOD FOR US!!