NEWS JUST IN

HAPPY GROVE HIGH SCHOOL IN PORTLAND HAS NOW BEEN TAKEN OVER BY THE SAME SPIRIT THAT WAS IN ST. THOMAS TECHNICAL..STAY TUNED

66 thoughts on “NEWS JUST IN

1. Met it’s the first I’m hearing about this at any school in jamaica. I was born and raised in St. Thomas till the age of 16, there’s this myth that everybody in St. Thomas work obeah, as “Friday” stated in the comment below. I’ve never heard of “myall” until I read the comment below. As far as I can remember drums were played at dead yard and rap head church, never in a school setting, so this is new to me.

1. I dont know where in St Thomas youre from..but if you go read a bit of Jamaica’s history you will also see that St Thomas and St James are famous for this..All my friends from St Thomas know about Myall and the episode Im talking with the schols happened in Kingston

1. I’m from yallahs this “myall” ting is new to mi. Met what is this myall thing? is it the sprit ? I’m going to ask my mom, but she a tell mi she a no obeah worker so no ask har noting lol.

2. use google…it is an ancestral spirit invoked by the beating of drums but there is an article on it because a nuh play ting a serious ting

2. Honeybee, nu feel nu way but your parish is known fi de ole African religion. Ask our former Prime Minister, Edward Seaga who wrote his thesis along with running a record label that recorded all those great drum beats of kumina and de sorts all from St. Thomas sources.

Nu shame cause if it wasn’t outlawed by plantation owners it wouldn’t be seen as disgrace today day.

1. Morning Met and Metters
    @Met, so I guess because it wasn’t quelled properly at St. Thomas Technical, di spirits are now roaming right

It is both frightening and intriguing for me. Met mi waan larn more!!! Explain please
    Beg yuh ah Obara please enlighten mi deh.
    (An mi affi run out shortly enuh man, cha!!)

1. It seems so, the teacher that was telling me saying it was pretty bad and not all of the students came out of the trance …usually the myall would go into one or two persons..Ive never seen or heard of it in so many people before…as obara seh dis look like likkle mixture ina it

2. What the hell is happening, I went to high school in Jamaica, I have devotions every morning, but no drums or anything out of the normal happened at these devotions, so I am truly lost here, this is never conducted in any school that I know of in Jamaica, because would have heard about it. This is crazy.

3. WELL IF THIS IS NOW SOME WHERE ELSE, IT MEANS AND THIS IS TRUE, THAT SOMEONE INVOKED SOMETHING AND HAS NOT OR CANNOT DISPATCH IT, THIS IS NOT JUST KUMINA, SOMETHING STIRRED AND NOW SOME ENERGY IS LOSE AND CANNOT LEAVE

1. From mi hear this I knew sumting was wrong if its one thing I know it’s God is a god of clarity n calm not confusion n all I saw was confusion desso, the blood of Jesus needs to be pleaded desso

4. Met, the Kumina held at the school brought down some intelligence and it’s family, (caws spirit moves with family, if yuh see one ah thousand is with it that you may not see), that is moving around. It makes sense that it would go to another school because it was invoked at one, anyone who ah ketch myal or spirit possession is open and receptive because of linage, fear, weak minded, highly spiritual, has medium abilities and so on!!!..I wish I was there to help!

5. I have witness the Cummina with my eyes and it is a sight to hold! I like it and enjoy the sound of the drums.I have a cousin who easy to get into the myall…onetime We went to dead yawd and him get inna myall with the spirit of the deceased who was murdered andbhe put on a show how he was trying to run from his assailants jumping wall and called out the names of who kill him..I’ve seen him dance on his toe point and when you look at these people it is obvious they are in a trance. There is story of people being in myall climbing maka tree just biting off live fowl neck and while the se people are in myall it is dangerous to take them away from the scene without beating the drums correctly to get them out of the myall white rum and matches help control the spirit. I have been to other dead yawd where the person in myall flinging bottles out ras and the people have to run up and down! People all cover the drums with white sheet and the drum can beat by it self I tell you Cummina is a sight to behold!

1. Miss Jamaica a dat mi a seh from morning..when dem ketch Myall dem always run and dance but something a little off with this trance..I heard that the spirit that was there was headless but Im still waiting on more info

1. Headless Omg… They better call in people that know about the drums and get some rum and you see this type of knowledge about these things are fading away from the generation but kummina is a very important part of our culture

1. yes thats what the teacher said and u correct..because it a fade whey there is no one competent fi tek it on..but dem still a hold dead yard as to wha mi hear so there must be at least one

2. u right….the drums just came to an abrupt end and where did all those strangers come from..also a one time mi see rum go up..and a di fus mi see so many people ketch myall

6. I just saw the last sentence of the article, where it says some children went home in the spirit of myal, and look what I commented @9:51… IN DE ODDA THREAD..this is why it ah transfer all bout, nobody was suppose to leave until the energies had been properly dispatched, den ah who ah de spiritual smaddy whey deh deh ah help??? him nuh know nutten….dem fi call BERNICEY…MI NUH SURE BUT SHE SUPPOSE TO KNOW SOME TINGS ACCORDING TO WAT MI HEAR!!

7. Jamaican people please hear this..WHEN KUMINA, AH KEEP, WAKE, TABLE, BURIAL, REVIAL AH JUMP, SANGO BAPTIST, MISA’S SESSION, SPIRITUAL MASS, ALL WHEN YUH WAAANN SLEEP DOE LEAVE UNTIL IT DONE OR AH HELL FI PAY!!!!..wisdom!!

1. Every year a family in Spanish Town keep kumina and i never see so many people in trance. Whenever I am ready, me gawn a my yard so i guess the weak spirit people betta stay put or stay home :peluk

8. i will make sure any wake i’m going if any of these things are taking place there i will make sure i am not there sound like an real duppy movie to me

9. Kumina: An Indigenous Religious Form

Kumina is an Afro-Jamaican religious belief system and practice. The movement took form particularly in the 1850s with the influx of African indentured immigrants from the Congo region of Central Africa during the immediate post-emancipation period. Kumina evolved strongest in St. Thomas where it is said that a large percentage of the immigrants settled. However over the years and through migration the practice has spread to areas in Kingston, St. Catherine, St. Mary and Portland.

The most significant aspect of Kumina involves the ceremony, which invokes communication with ancestral spirits and incorporates singing, dancing, music and sacrificial offerings. The music is created by the use of the drums – the Kbandu and the Playing Cast, which are played astride and accompanied by shakas, graters and catta sticks. The music accompanies singing, which holds different degrees of significance for Kumina ceremonies. Bailo are songs in Jamaican creole it is the less sacred, aspects of Kumina ceremonies, while Country involves the use of the Ki-kongo language and for communicating with the spirits to give them support to take over the bodies of devotees. Dancing completes the ritual and involves movement with an erect back posture in a circular pattern anti-clockwise, around the drummers, gyrating hips as the feet inch along the ground.

The combination of singing, dancing and music often create an environment conducive to spiritual possession, a significant phenomenon in Kumina, known as Mayal. This is when the spirit of the Gods, sky, earth-bound and ancestral spirits takes control of the dancer’s body causing them to become an instrument through which the spirit world communicates with the earthly domain. In this state the dancer looses control of his/her own speech and movement and can appear to be in a trance.

A Kumina table is another important part of the Kumina ceremony and consists of a number of items used to satisfy and honour the spirits. Water, sugared water, wine, rice, rum, flowers, fruits, cake, bread candles, bottles of aerated drink are often present. Candles of various colours such as blue, white, green, red, black are used to symbolize different occasions and to invite spirits in personal and mutual circumstances. During ceremonies when interaction with the spirit takes place, animal sacrifices are usually made.

Kumina ceremonies are held for different reasons – surrounding the death of a person, tombing, weddings, and anniversaries, to drive out evil spirits from those possessed, to ask for advice in important matters, for healing and to free individuals from evil spells. Ceremonies can also be held for persons who seek help in problems and need guidance. In most cases a table is raised and a feast is prepared to provide food and treats for the spirit and for the people attending the ceremony.

10. So let me get this straight?? WHAT IS GOD for?? Why ppl need kumina fi drive out evil spirits .. Does it say anything about this stuff in the bible ?? I are confusedddd .. This is scary! I was born and raised in Ja but on the west side & I never see nothing like this yet .. I don’t go wake n dem ting deh but this is creepy n if mi did Eva see this mi couldn’t sleep at night!

1. A part of St Thomas was occupied by Maroons, meaning slaves who had claimed their own freedom and had ran away from their masters. One of the veils of slavery was Religion. It was initially imposed to make slaves more submissive, I am not disputing the bible nor will I say they showed them God or anything but…………. these slaves who were given religion could not read or write most of them and when they did go to church the preachers back then preached about submission and they did not read or preach fro the whole bible. Now, remember that Africa established one of the first civilizations and these our people had their own way of worship and spirituality that was personal, powerful, different and totally exclusive to us the Africans. Isnt it funny how our way of dance is natural to us and to other races the moves are not as natural to them..It is because we had our very own thing. These slaves who ran away were free to practice what they came from Africa with not only because it was their way of worship, it was also the means by which they protected themselves and their freedom. Remember till this day Maroon town is said to be sacred, man of the white masters could not go into these sacred lands..You should try to read up on it..fascinating stuff

1. You will hear about how they used religion and I will try to find kumina videos for tomorrow.. A lot of people always make a big stink about why I post wtf africa…dem tink it look stupid and backward but if u ask a real african they will tell you how proud they are of their culture and the things in it..they do not try in the least fi let it go..look whey let go a jamaica now and nobody to curb it

11. @Friday, God is an energy that is ABOVE all and EVERYTHING!!…..when human beings make their transition into the realm of spirits only the physical body is shed, the spirit or life force of that person can NEVER die….remember the disciples saw the Christ three days after the crucifixion, HE AROSE!!…there is no death only the shedding of our earthly clothes. Now listen, when our friends or family members have crossed over they still have access to us through the world of visions and dreams, and for some through clairvoyance, there are more than one earth, and MALKUTH IS the spiritual earth, there are many ways of communicating with the ancestors, and AS WELL WE SHOULD, AGAIN TO QUOTE THE BIBLE in Matthew 17 1-3 Jesus spoke to Moses and Elijah..these were prophets who were long gone before Jesus was born….Honoring our Ancestors is the correct thing to do, we should concentrate on waking up!!

12. There are 66 books of the bible, there are other books of the bible that were removed such as the Apocrypha and the gnostic, Jamaican people talk about fearing the Maccabee, but nothing is there for them to fear, I have read it…The Sprit of God resides in the bible and also other literatures, the Quran, Gnostic, the Vedic and Sufi’s and the Odus of Ifa Orunmila (although passed down orally), God is everywhere and for some what they have been taught is what they believe and that is that, nutten nuh wrong with that because we are all not the same AGE SPIRITUALLY, and certain minds can only take so much….KNOWLEDGE (SPIRITUAL) IS THE KEY TO BE FREE FROM THE WHEEL OF EXISTENCE!!!

13. human suffering ENDS when we have learnt ALL our LESSONS here on this earth plane, the true living begins when you are NO LONGER A CANDIDATE FOR A BODY AND DO NOT EVER HAVE TO COME BACK TO LIVE A EARTHLY LIFE!!!…All who are AWAKE WILL UNDERSTAND WHAT I HAVE JUST WRITTEN!!.. THE EARTH IS THE LORD AND THE FULLNESS THEREOF!!!

14. I TURNED 25 THIS YEAR, IHOWEVER MOST TIMES IN DREAMS I FIND MYSELF SPEAKING IN TONGUES OR REBUKING FORCES! AND IN CONSCIOUSNESS I LACK THOSE ABILITIES! AND IF I WERE TO TELL PEOPLE MY ABILITIES AND VISIONS PERSONS WOULD BE SHOCKED BCUZ OF HOW I LOOK. BUT NOTHING DOESNT REALLY HAS A FACE!

15. I REBUKE AND SPEAK IN TONGUES WHEN I HAVE VISONS AND DREAMS! UNFORTUNATELY I LACK THE ABILITY TO DO SUCH PERFORMANCE WHEN IM CONSCIOUS! BUT I THINK I HAVE THESE ABILITIES BECAUSE OF MY REVIVALIST BACK GROUND NOT SURE! BCUZ IM SOO DRAWN TO THAT CULTURE!

16. Met this is not the first time its happening at St Thomas Technical High School it happen some time back in 2005 or 2006 and wi hafifi run and all jump di wall smh mi all mash up mi foot in the process. St Thomas Technical is built on a plantation so a nuff dead ppl ova there & dat mek it worse

1. Over St Thomas Tech haunted whole heap a strange things happen over there…all yesterday di police dem did haffi run fi dem life. Eye water did full up inna one a di police man eye him seh him neva see nutten like dat that before…di kids dem did a behave badly dem all a rail up like horse and a tear off dem uniform. It was very crazy

1. It really bad cuz di kids dem seh dem nah go back over there & I just heard that Seaforth High School in St Thomas came under attack by demons today. I really don’t know what’s going on in St Thomas

2. Dem se happy grove to..im going to ask the person whey a update mi fi check…yes mi hear seh none a di kids dem nuh mek no move today but they need fi pray pan di grounds n see whats going on

17. I EVEN GOT A VISION FR0M GOD THAT THERE WAS GONNA BE AN EARTHQUAKE AND I WOKE UP CRYING DID NOT BOTHER WENT TO SCHOOL ONLY TO FIND OUT ON CNN INDONESIA HAD AN EARTHQUAKE AND I HAD ANOTHER VISION AND IT WAS PAKISTAN ONE OF THOSE MUSLIM COUNTRY! SPIRITUALISM IS REAL AND OBEAH IS ALSO REAL! I HAVE A COUSIN WHO IS A REVIVALIST AND WHEN YOU SEE HIM DANCE IN FIRE MEMBA! MOST PERSONS ARE PLAIN HYPOCRITES!

18. We are STRONGER/WISER/ACTIVE/SPIRITUAL in our sleeping than our AWAKE state, when we sleep we let go of our everyday woes which convolutes our mind, our inner consciousness takes over and takes us on a journey, we meet our astral mates on our nightly outing or daily ( some of us sleep in the days) and the journey with us as we travel and experience the good bad and ugly in the realm of spirits, we do this every day or night, even if you wake and do not remember having a dream or vision, you DID!!!

19. @met anuh jst happy grove high n st thomas tech was affected just read sydney pagon agri high was affected too! it started with 2 girls n den spread smh..is wah really a gwan a d sch dem

20. These kids are so smart, they probably planned this over Facebook and BBm so they could miss school, knowing people would believe them because of st Thomas so called history!

1. Met I fully respect the fact that you believe in this whole heartedly,I feel your passion in your writing….but I personally do not believe in this foolishness at all, this is just a big prank done intentionally to create a social media frenzie, in this incident these kids have proved smarter then the so called teachers!

1. that would be an elaborate plan juss to miss school. whatever happened to i’m sick?

i think ur giving these kids way to much credit lol.

1. well said! wat a way dem acting good dwl …sen dem go hollywood mek dem shell it dung fi me deh ! it better u say u nuh believe n leave it deh suh ! like the active imagination the children have , you ur self have one as well! believing such schemes lol if it was supn similar ur thoughts wud have been more easily received

1. And you believing spirits have taken over them is called what??? Your right this stupidness should be a Hollywood movie “return of the ancestors” Lol if my imagination is active then what is yours??? Normal??? You have to be joking right???

1. believing in spirits would be the norm and apart of life and our ancestral background! if the bible and where we blacks come from in africa was facts i would right it off as rubbish! thats how i would put it not an imagination thing! i jst find wat u said funny! hoax and all

21. I born and grow a eastern St Thomas… a few miles from there right in the district where kumina is maybe practiced the most. This sort of thing is a regular @ nine night etc, i have never experienced at school. i have never personally been in myall but has seen it a whole lot. What persons above say about needing the right drummers, and the drummers need to calm/speed things up etc is tru as the real masters of those things can prevent persons from gettting hurt…i know those drums and that ritual is powerful, especially from stories i hear from my forebears about earlier times when the practice was greater,and was more integrated in the culture..

1. yes my bff was just telling me its the drums really that calm them down it has to beaten in a certain way..maybe one day mi can collect up some info and make a post

22. Met I’m from st.thomas and where this school is located I believe duppy dey pon the pickney dem fi thru.. The school is located in the middle of a cane piece in a old plantation slavery grounds.. I can’t to America six years now and I always hear of ppl kids coming from school get drag away no body see of here nothing when the body was found doctor could find the cause if death.. So judging by the history and location of this school I totally believe and the kumina is to calm the sprints and tell them you come to party with them..