YOHAN BLAKE BUYS GOVT HOUSE FOR 52M

Blake-house-2-Optimized
ATHLETICS star Yohan Blake has paid the Jamaica Government $52 million for a property at 11 Jack’s Hill Road in St Andrew.
But Blake will need to spend heavily on fixing the property, as its condition has deteriorated badly in recent years and is said to require “major repairs”, by one official close to the transaction.
The Government acquired the property from Ernest Wedgewood in 1964 for 10,000 pounds. Now, 50
years on, its value rose 5,000 times higher.
The sale of the single-family residence by the National Land Agency (NLA), was approved by Cabinet in July.
Utilised as a residence for government officers, the property fell into disrepair in recent years, due mainly to its infrequent use. Even the
NLA reported that major upgrading work was needed to restore it to its former glory.
One government source told the Jamaica Observer that some of the money earned from the sale will be used to maintain existing Government houses and put toward the purchase of newer properties in the State’s housing stock.
Blake, 24, who is from humble dwellings in Bogue Hill, St James, rose to prominence as a St Jago High school athlete in becoming the first teenager to dip under the 10-second barrier for the 100m. In 2009 at age 19 years and 196 days, Blake ran 9.93 seconds in Paris, France.
Blake, who was quoted as saying he wasn’t born with a gold spoon in his mouth, had a tough childhood and had to miss school on several occasions because he had no money and had to sell bottles to survive.
Now Blake, with personal bests of 9.69 and 19.26 seconds for the 100 and 200m, respectively, is reported by Celebrity Networth to be valued at US$2 million (approximately J$226 million).
Only at the 2012 London Olympics, Blake sported a Richard Mille designer watch in the colours of the Jamaican flag that was said to be worth US$500,000 valued at J$44 million at the time.
However, the International Olympic Committee has strict guidelines as to what athletes can and cannot wear while competing, and with Omega being the official watchmaker of the Olympics, Blake’s action irked organisers.
ADVE

0 thoughts on “YOHAN BLAKE BUYS GOVT HOUSE FOR 52M

1. now the men who has been hitting up his twitter and instagram knows his address…………..MET MI JUS CALL GLENN MILLS AND TELL HIM SEH HIM FI MEET MI PON DI TRACK A MAWNIN AND POSTPONE USAIN CAUSE A RUNNING MI TING DEH YAH KNOW…….. :tkp :travel

2. Good fi him. If it build from back den di construction solid, no cheap materials, and it muss hab some nice architectural elements. All brefruit tree dideh, him caan neva hungry. Congrats young man!

3. I’m sure when he gets done renovating and refurbishing this house it will be amazing. Go ahead a do your thing Yohan. A lot celebrities don’t have a thing to show for all the years they are in the spotlight. Wishing you great success.

4. Better him did start fresh and build a houE from scratch for all that bread for old house. Whoever advise him to do that have no sense.

5. met off topic good morning the movie calabash what a movie nce.. met me wan watch part 5 and 6, me say mary coming like a bad bull inna the village, you know a which part sweet me when the brothein law wan rape her she nearly kill it inna the room.. what away the madda wicked and theift.. speaking about theifT Ishawna put up one post saying leak bill gates and oprah credit card numbers.. dat make me feel deep down like she is a f**king teef. dat post confirm everything.. so if it leak she woulda go use it.. why she a pray fi di ppl dem credit card number lak.. damn scammer u wha see the scammers them a boast her!

1. matter of a fact a it mi a go check this morning before mi get up fully because i waa see what the curse was and what secret her mother was keeping

1. met plz upload it so I can get to watch it to, a think a her grandfather mn her mother side make the curse come pan dem.. cause u see the first part weh the man a tell the man say you are not going to marry my daughter a the man weh dem beat up put the curse pan the family me just assuming a so the movie go
          when you get a chance post it mek me watch it please and thanks